File No. 419.11D29/103.

Minister Price to the Secretary of State.

No. 582.]

Sir: Referring to my telegram of July 27 and the Department’s reply telegram of August 7 and my cable response of this date, I have the honor to transmit a copy of the Foreign Office note and of its translation received late to-day from Secretary Lefevre, and referred to in my said cable last mentioned. * * *

I have [etc.]

Wm. Jennings Price.

The Secretary for Foreign Affairs to Minister Price.

No. S–7662.]

Mr. Minister: Referring to our conversation of this morning with regard to the matter of the events in the city of Panama on the 4th of July 1912, I [Page 1179] have the honor to indicate and offer to your excellency the names and places of residence of the ministers and diplomatic agents accredited to our Government from which list your excellency’s Government may select the arbitrator who has to fix the amounts of the indemnities to be paid in said matter.

Envoys Extraordinary and Ministers Plenipotentiary.

  • Great Britain: His Excellency, Sir Claude C. Mallet, Panama.
  • Chile: His Excellency, C. Vergara Clark, San José de Costa Rica.
  • Netherlands: His Excellency, W. L. F. C. de Rappard, Washington.

Ministers Resident.

Belgium: His Excellency, H. Henin, Guatemala.

Chargés d’Affaires.

  • Cuba: The Honorable R. Gutierrez Alcaide, Panama.
  • Nicaragua: The Honorable Marcos F. Velazquez, Panama.
  • France: The Honorable P. Bizel, Panama.
  • Spain: The Honorable Emilio de Motta, Panama.
  • Italy: The Honorable Carlos Raguzzi, Panama.
  • Brazil: The Honorable Luis Guinaraes, La Habana.

As your excellency stated that you desire that this list be amplified, I am glad to state that the Government has no objection to accept your excellency’s suggestion to the extent that the three ambassadors of the American nations accredited to the Government of the United States of America may be added to this list.

I avail [etc.]

E. T. Lefevre.