845.00/1800: Telegram

Mr. William Phillips, Personal Representative of President Roosevelt in India, to the Secretary of State

156. Mody, Aney and Sarkar have resigned from Viceroy’s Executive Council21 over issue of Gandhi’s fast. They were 3 of the minority of 5 who voted for Gandhi’s unconditional release (reference my 130, February 11, 6 p.m.)

  1. Sir Hormusji Peroshaw Mody, Supply Member of the Executive Council; Madhao Shrihari Aney, Indians Overseas Member; Nalini Ranjan Sarkar, Education, Health and Lands Member.