Editorial Note

On February 24, the Department of State extended invitations to the Korean Political Conference at Geneva to the Republic of Korea (see infra ), Australia, Belgium, Canada, Colombia, Ethiopia, Greece, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Thailand, Turkey, and the Union of South Africa. In accordance with the agreement reached at Berlin, the Soviet Union was to invite North Korea and the People’s Republic of China. (Press release 97, February 26; Department of State Bulletin, March 8, 1954, page 347)

On the same day, Secretary Dulles delivered a radio and television address to the nation reporting on the results of the Berlin Conference. The text of his remarks is printed ibid., page 343.