Ambassador Meyer to the Secretary of State.


(Mr. Meyer transmits the following provisions, which are being considered, for a national assembly: Members will be elected for five years. The Emperor can order a new election. The president of the assembly is elected annually by the members and reports to the Emperor. One-third of the house constitutes a quorum. Committee chairmen are elected by the committees. Members can not be arrested and enjoy freedom of judgment. Membership is forfeited by debt when property qualifications are lost or during military service. Traveling expenses to and from St. Petersburg and $5 per diem are allowed. The ministers may attend the meetings and make explanations in the house, but are not members. The imperial treasury will provide for the expenses. Bills may be introduced by the legislators with the signatures of thirty members, and two-thirds vote is required for the passage of a bill.)