107. Editorial Note

On July 20, representatives of various revolutionary groups opposed to the Batista government established the Frente Civico Revolucionario and issued a unity declaration in Caracas, Venezuela. It was signed by Fidel Castro, Carlos Prio Socarrás for the Organization Auténtica, Enrique Rodríguez Loeches for the Directorio Revolucionario, Justo Carillo for the Agrupación Montecristi, Manuel Antonio Varona for the Partído Revolucionario Cubano Insureccional, Angel Santos Buch for the Resistencia Civica, Lincoln Rodón for the Partido Democráta Independiente, David Salvador, Angel Cofiño, Pascasio Linares, Lauro Blanco, José Aguilera for the Universidad Obrera, José Puente and Omar Fernández for the Federación Estudiantil Universitaría, and José Miró Cardona as secretary to the various political groups.

The text of the declaration in Spanish and an English translation were sent to the Department as an enclosure to despatch 109 from Havana, July 29. (Department of State, Central Files, 737.00/7–2958) For an English translation, see also Bonichea and Valdes, Selected Works of Fidel Castro, volume I, pages 386–389.