Editorial Notes

The opening sessions of the Bundestag and Bundesrat were held on September 7 at Bonn, the capital of the Federal Republic, in the presence of the three High Commissioners. Dr. Erich Koehler (CDU) was elected President of the Bundestag, while Dr. Karl Arnold (CDU) was elected President of the Bundesrat. Five days later a Federal Convention elected Dr. Theodor Heuss (FDP) Federal President on the second ballot, and on September 15 Konrad Adenauer was elected Federal Chancellor with an absolute minimum majority of 202 votes out of 402. Adenauer then proceeded to the formation of a Cabinet based on a coalition of the CDU/CSU, FDP and DP, which was nominated September 20, and introduced to the Allied High Commission at its first meeting September 21.

On September 15 the Foreign Ministers of the United States, United Kingdom and France discussed in Washington various problems relating to Germany. For documentation on their discussions, see pages 599 ff.