The Ambassador in Great Britain (Dawes) to the Secretary of State

No. 761

Sir: I have the honor to inform you that immediately upon receipt of the Department’s Instruction No. 234, dated January 22, 1930 (File 123 al 11/111),1 enclosing a copy of an instruction which had been sent to the American Vice Consul at Nairobi, Kenya, East Africa, relating to the death duties on the estate of Mr. Charles H. Albrecht, deceased, formerly American Consul at Nairobi, a note was sent to the Foreign Office requesting that the Embassy be furnished, for the use of the officials of the United States Government, with a list of the British Colonies which have not adhered to the Convention between the United States and Great Britain which was signed at Washington on March 2, 1899,2 and I am transmitting herewith copies of the Foreign Office note received in reply, which is self-explanatory.

I have [etc.]

For the Ambassador:
Ray Atherton

Counselor of Embassy

The British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs (Henderson) to the American Ambassador (Dawes)

No. A1973/1001/45

Your Excellency: I have the honour to refer to Your Excellency’s note No. 424 of February 4th and in reply to state that the following British Colonies and Protectorates have not adhered to the Convention between the United Kingdom and the United States of America relative to the Disposal of Real and Personal Property signed at Washington on the 2nd March, 1899:—

Gibraltar, Ascension, Federated Malay States (Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Selangor,) Unfederated Malay States (Johore, Kedah, [Page 135] Kelantan, Perlis, Trengganu, Brunei), Kenya Colony and Protectorate, Malta, Northern Rhodesia, Nyasaland Protectorate, Sarawak, Seychelles, Somaliland Protectorate, Swaziland, Uganda Protectorate, Weihaiwei, British Solomon Islands Protectorate, Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony, Tonga, Zanzibar Protectorate.
The Convention has not been applied to the New Hebrides, which are administered as a Franco-British condominium.
Natal, which was not among the Colonies now forming the Union of South Africa that acceded to the Convention, should be added to the list.
No territory administered by His Majesty’s Government in the United Kingdom under mandate from the League of Nations is a party to the Convention.

I have [etc.]

(For the Secretary of State)
G. H. Thompson