File No. 861.00/2419

The Consul at Archangel ( Cole ) to the Department of State


83. Government of northern territory formed during night of August 1, containing nine members as follows: seven members of the Constituent Assembly from provinces of Archangel, Vyatka, Vologda, Novgorod, Kazan, Samara, from old northern front, also assistant mayor Vologda city and [vice] president Archangel city Duma, N. V. Chaikovski being president thereof.

City quiet. Pierce and other Americans safe. …