70. Editorial Note

On August 15, 1960, the Republic of Congo (capital at Brazzaville) became independent. For text of a message of that date from President Eisenhower to Prime Minister Fulbert Youlou, see Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1960–61, page 631. Consul General at Brazzaville Alan W. Lukens presented his credentials as Chargé d’Affaires on August 15; see the Department of State announcement of October 13 in Department of State Bulletin, October 31, 1960, page 702. The first Ambassador to the Republic of Congo, W. Wendell Blancké, presented his credentials on December 23, 1960.