56. Editorial Note

On October 2, 1958, the Republic of Guinea was established by proclamation of its National Assembly. The text of a letter of November 1, 1958, from President Eisenhower to Prime Minister Sekou Touré extending formal U.S. recognition is in Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1958, page 826. On February 16, 1959, the Department of State announced the opening on February 13 of an embassy at Conakry, with Robert W. Rinden as Chargé d’Affaires; see Department of State Bulletin, March 16, 1959, page 390. The first U.S. Ambassador to Guinea, John Howard Morrow, presented his credentials on July 30.

For further documentation on U.S. policy toward Guinea, see Documents 305331.