Funeral Obsequies

Official arrangements at Washington for the funeral solemnities of the late Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States, who died at the seat of government on Saturday, the 15th day of April, 1865.

The following order of arrangement is directed:

order of the procession.

funeral escortin column of march.

One Regiment of Cavalry.
Two Batteries of Artillery. [Page 650] Battalion of Marines.
Two regiments of Infantry.
Commander of Escort and Staff.
Dismounted officers of Marine Corps, Navy and Army, in the order named.
Mounted Officers of Marine Corps, Navy and Army, in the order named.
All military officers to be in uniform, with side-arms.

civic procession.

Clergy in attendance.
The Surgeon General of the United States army and physicians to the deceased.

Pall bearers. HEARSE Pall-bearers.
On the part of the Senate. On the part of the House.
Mr. Foster, of Connecticut. Mr. Dawes, of Massachusetts.
Mr. Morgan, of New York. Mr. Coffroth, of Pennsylvania.
Mr. Johnson, of Maryland. Mr. Smith, of Kentucky.
Mr. Yates, of Illinois. Mr. Colfax, of Indiana.
Mr. Wade, of Ohio. Mr. Worthingrton, of Nevada.
Mr. Conness, of California. Mr. Washburne, of Illinois.
Army. Navy.
Lieutenant General U. S. Grant. Vice-Admiral D. G. Farragut.
Major General H. W. Halleck. Rear-Admiral W. B. Shubrick.
Brevet Brigadier General W. A. Nichols Colonel Jacob Zeilin, Marine Corps.
O. H. Browning. Thomas Corwin.
George Ashmun. Simon Cameron.

The delegations of the States of Illinois and Kentucky, as mourners.
The President.
The Cabinet Ministers.
The Diplomatic Corps.
The Chief Justice,
And Associate Justices of the Supreme Court.
The Senate of the United States,
Preceded by their officers.
Members of the House of Representatives of the United States.
Governors of the several States and Territories.
Legislatures of the several States and Territories.
The Federal Judiciary,
And the Judiciary of the several States and Territories.
The Assistant Secretaries of State, Treasury, War, Navy, Interior, and the [Page 651] Assistant Postmasters General, and the
Assistant Attorney General.
Officers of the Smithsonian Institution.
The members and officers of the Sanitary and Christian Commissions.
Corporate authorities of Washington, Georgetown, and other cities.
Delegations of the several States.
The Reverend the Clergy of the various denominations.
The clerks and employés of the several departments and bureaus, preceded by
The Heads of such bureaus and their respective chief clerks.
Such societies as may wish to join the procession.
Citizens and strangers.

The troops designated to form the escort will assemble in the avenue, north of the President’s house, and form line precisely at 11 o’clock a. m., on Wednesday, the 19th instant, with the left resting on Fifteenth street. The procession will move precisely at 2 o’clock p. m., on the conclusion of the religious services at the Executive Mansion, (appointed to commence at 12 o’clock meridian,) when minute guns will be fired by detachments of artillery, stationed near St. John’s church, the City Hall, and at the Capitol. At the same hour the bells of the several churches in Washington, Georgetown, and Alexandria will be tolled.

At sunrise on Wednesday, the 19th instant, a federal salute will be fired from the military stations in the vicinity of Washington, minute-guns between the hours of twelve and three o’clock, and a national salute at the setting of the sun.

The usual badge of mourning will be worn on the left arm and on the hilt of the sword.

By order of the Secretary of War:


Assistant Adjutant General.