Editorial Note

The following documents, which were signed in Paris on October 23 by representatives of the Four-Power Conference, the Nine-Power Conference, and the North Atlantic Ministerial Council, were commonly referred to as the “Paris Agreements”: Protocol on the Termination of the Occupation Regime in the Federal Republic of Germany, Convention on the Presence of Foreign Forces in the Federal Republic of Germany, Tripartite Agreement on the Exercise of Retained Rights in Germany, Declaration Inviting Italy and the Federal Republic of Germany To Accede to the Brussels Treaty, Protocols to the Brussels Treaty, and Protocol to the North Atlantic Treaty on the Accession of the Federal Republic of Germany. Information concerning the drafting, approval, and signature of these documents is given in the annotation provided with each text.