82. Editorial Note

Elections to the 17th Majlis took place throughout the spring and into the summer of 1952, and the new Majlis convened formally on April 27, 1952. On July 14, Prime Minister Mosadeq submitted a new Cabinet to the Shah based on the elected membership of the 17th Majlis up to that point. Mosadeq included in this submission a claim for control over the War Ministry, which the Shah refused. As a result, Mosadeq resigned his post as Prime Minister and, on July 17, was replaced by Qavam.