Editorial Note

On February 7, 1950, the Department of State announced that the United States had accorded diplomatic recognition to the Governments of the State of Viet-Nam, the Kingdom of Laos, and the Kingdom of Cambodia. For the text of the Department’s press release, see Department of State Bulletin, February 20, 1950, pages 291–292.

The United Kingdom also recognized the three Governments on February 7. For the text of the note delivered by Sir Oliver Harvey, British Ambassador in Paris, to the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, see Great Britain, Parliament, Documents Relating to British Involvement in the Indo-China Conflict, 1945–1965, Cmnd. 2834 (London: Her Majesty’s Stationery Office, 1965), page 56.