Nanking Embassy Files, Lot F–73

The Chinese Ministry of Information to the American Embassy

Important Points Presented by Mr. Chou En-lai and Mr. Wang Jo-fei on Sept. 3, at 5 P.M.

Definite adoption of a policy of peaceful reconstruction, with peace, cooperation and democracy as the foundation of national unity, in order to realize the Three People’s Principles (using the Manifesto of the First National Convention of the Kuomintang, 1924, as standard).
Loyal support of the leadership of President Chiang Kai-shek.
Recognition of the “equal” legal status of different political [Page 458] parties, with a view to long-term cooperation in peaceful reconstruction of the country.
Recognition of the political authorities and the anti-Japanese forces in the “Liberated Areas”.
Severe punishment for traitors and disbandment of all puppet forces.
Re-demarcation of surrender zones, and participation of the Chinese Communist Party in accepting surrender.
Cessation of all armed clashes, with orders to all military forces to remain at their present positions, pending further instruction.
Early adoption, pending the termination of one-party rule, of various necessary measures, to effect the democratization of government, nationalization of armed forces, and cooperation among the political parties on an equal footing.
Measures essential to the democratization of government:
A political Conference or Inter-Party Consultation Conference, composed of representatives of various parties and certain non-partisan leaders, to be called by the National Government to discuss the following topics:
the policy of peaceful reconstruction
a programme for the realization of the democratic ideal
the question of the participation of different parties in the Government
re-election of delegates to the People’s Congress
problems of demobilization and rehabilitation.
Definite adoption of self-government for the provinces and districts, and of universal suffrage. The process to start from the lower levels upward.
Settlement of the question of “Liberated Areas”.
The governors and members of the provincial governments of Shansi, Shantung, Hopei, Jehol and Chahar to be nominated by the Chinese Communist Party.
The vice-governors of Suiyuan, Honan, Anhwei, Kiangsu, Hupeh and Kwangtung to be nominated by the Chinese Communist Party.
The vice-mayors of Peiping, Tientsin, Tsingtao and Shanghai to be nominated by the Chinese Communist Party.
The Chinese Communist Party to participate in the government of the Northeastern Provinces.
Adoption of urgent measures for relief and rehabilitation.
Measures essential to the nationalization of armed forces:
Rational and equitable reorganization of the armed forces of the whole country to be carried out by stages. The communist forces to be reorganized into 16 armies, i. e. 48 divisions.
Re-demarcation of garrison zones and adoption of a system of conscription. Chinese Communist troops to be stationed in the Hwai [Page 459] River valley (northern Kiangsu and northern Anhwei) and the region north of the Lunghai Railway (where Communist troops are now stationed).
Safeguard, after reorganization, for the position of officers of different ranks.
Participation in the National Military Council and in the work of its subordinate organs.
Establishment of a Peiping Provisional Headquarters and a Peiping Political Council, members of which are to be nominated by the Chinese Communist Party.
Measures to provide employment for discharged officers.
Partisans in “Liberated Areas” to be reorganized by local authorities into Self-Defence Corps.
Adoption of a rational and equitable supply system.
Adoption of a definite plan for political education.
Measures essential for inter-party cooperation on an equal footing:
Release of political prisoners.
Safeguard of all freedoms and abolition of all unreasonable restrictive laws.
Abolition of special service organs (Central Bureau of Investigation and Statistics and the Bureau of Investigation and Statistics of the National Military Council, etc.).