Mr. Seys to Mr. Seward.

No. 47.]

Sir: I have the honor to inform you that the members of the cabinet of the republic of Liberia have been appointed by his excellency President Payne, and all, except in one instance, duly confirmed by the senate. They are—

Hon. J. N. Lewis, secretary of state.

Hon. D. A. Beams, secretary of treasury.

Hon. W. M. Davis, attorney general.

Hon, J. Evans, postmaster general.

H. W. Dennis, esq., formerly speaker of the house of representatives, having declined the offer of secretary of the treasury, Mr. Beams, late clerk of the senate was nominated and appointed by President Payne, but not in time for the confirmation of that body previous to its adjournment.

I have the honor to be, sir, with the highest respect, your most obedient servant,


Hon. William H. Seward, Secretary of State, Washington, D. C.