A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Cyprus


The island of Cyprus had been a British Crown Colony since 1925, but in 1960, it received its independence. The United States recognized Cyprus on August 16, 1960. In 1983, a Turkish-controlled area located on the northern section of the island declared its independence, calling itself the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC). Turkey has been the only country in the world to recognize the TRNC, however. Although the United States has never recognized the TRNC, it has consistently maintained its diplomatic relations with Cyprus since 1960.

Modern Flag of Cyprus


U.S. Recognition of Cyprus, 1960.

The United States recognized Cyprus on August 16, 1960, when the decision was announced in a Department of State press release.

Diplomatic Relations

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations and the American Embassy, 1960.

Diplomatic relations and the American Embassy in Nicosia were established on August 16, 1960, when the American Consulate General was elevated to an embassy, with L. Douglas Heck as Chargé d’Affaires ad interim. Ambassador Fraser Wilkins presented his credentials on September 19, 1960.


  • Department of State Country Fact Sheet: Cyprus
  • Department of State Country Information: Cyprus