1. Editorial Note

On January 3, 1955, the Department of State announced that the United States Government had extended existing travel regulations “for Soviet citizens stationed in the United States to include all Soviet citizens in possession of valid Soviet passports other than Soviet citizen officers and employees of the U.N. Secretariat while their conduct is a responsibility of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.” The regulations established closed areas in the United States comparable to those closed to travel by Americans and other foreigners in the Soviet Union. For texts of the announcement and the note presented on January 3 to the Soviet Embassy in Washington, along with five enclosures specifying the areas closed to Soviet citizens, see Department of State Bulletin, January 31, 1955, pages 193–197.

On January 19, the Department of State announced the institution of regulations governing photography and sketching in the United States by Soviet citizens, which the Department said were comparable to those the Soviet Union instituted on February 11, 1954, regarding photography and sketching by foreign citizens in the Soviet Union. For texts of this announcement, and the note presented that day by the Department to the Soviet Embassy, see ibid., pages 198–199.