Editorial Note

The American Committee on Dependent Territories held its first meeting at Habana, March 15–July 21, 1949. Fourteen countries appointed representatives: Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Venezuela. Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Uruguay, and the United States did not appoint representatives. For information on the meeting, see Annals of the Organization of American States (Washington, Pan American Union, 1949), volume I, pages 134, 142, 268, 327, and 389.