Executive Agreement Series No. 236

740.0011 European War 1939/18239

Declaration by United Nations:

A Joint Declaration by the United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China. Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia

The Governments signatory hereto,

Having subscribed to a common program of purposes and principles embodied in the Joint Declaration of the President of the United States of America and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland dated August 14, 1941, known as the Atlantic Charter.

Being convinced that complete victory over their enemies is essential to defend life, liberty, independence and religious freedom, and to preserve human rights and justice in their own lands as well as in other lands, and that they are now engaged in a common struggle against savage and brutal forces seeking to subjugate the world, Declare: [Page 26]

Each Government pledges itself to employ its full resources, military or economic, against those members of the Tripartite Pact and its adherents with which such government is at war.
Each Government pledges itself to cooperate with the Governments signatory hereto and not to make a separate armistice or peace with the enemies.

The foregoing declaration may be adhered to by other nations which are, or which may be, rendering material assistance and contributions in the struggle for victory over Hitlerism.

The United States of America by Franklin D. Roosevelt
The United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland by Winston Churchill
On behalf of the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Maxim Litvinoff
National Government of the Republic of China
Tse-Vung Soong
Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Commonwealth of Australia by R. G. Casey
The Kingdom of Belgium by Cte E. v. Straten
Canada by Leighton McCarthy
The Republic of Costa Rica by Luis Fernández
The Republic of Cuba by Aurelio F. Concheso
Czechoslovak Republic by V. S. Hurban
The Dominican Republic by J. M. Troncoso
The Republic of El Salvador by C. A. Alfaro
The Kingdom of Greece by Cimon P. Diamantopoulos
The Republic of Guatemala by:—Enrique Lopez-Herrarte
La Republique d’Haiti par Fernand Dennis
The Republic of Honduras by Julián R. Cáceres
India by Girja Shankar Bajpai
The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg by Hugues Le Gallais
The Kingdom of the Netherlands A. Loudon
Signed on behalf of the Govt of the Dominion of New Zealand by Frank Langstone
The Republic of Nicaragua by León De Bayle The Kingdom of Norway by W. Munthe Morgenstierne
The Republic of Panamá by Jaén Guardia
The Republic of Poland by Jan Ciechanowski
The Union of South Africa by Ralph W. Close
The Kingdom of Yugoslavia by Constantin A. Fotitch