Treaty Series No. 875

Convention on the Nationality of Women, Signed at Montevideo, December 26, 1933 52

The Governments represented in the Seventh International Conference of American States:

Wishing to conclude a Convention on the Nationality of Women, have appointed the following Plenipotentiaries:

[Here follows list of Plenipotentiaries.]

Who, after having exhibited their Full Powers, which were found in good and due form, have agreed upon the following:

Article 1

There shall be no distinction based on sex as regards nationality, in their legislation or in their practice.

Article 2

The present convention shall be ratified by the High Contracting Parties in conformity with their respective constitutional procedures. The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uruguay shall transmit authentic certified copies to the governments for the aforementioned purpose of ratification. The instrument of ratification shall be deposited in the archives of the Pan American Union in Washington, which shall notify the signatory governments of said deposit. Such notification shall be considered as an exchange of ratifications.

Article 3

The present convention will enter into force between the High Contracting Parties in the order in which they deposit their respective ratifications.

[Page 213]

Article 4

The present convention shall remain in force indefinitely but may be denounced by means of one year’s notice given to the Pan American Union, which shall transmit it to the other signatory governments. After the expiration of this period the convention shall cease in its effects as regards the party which denounces but shall remain in effect for the remaining High Contracting Parties.

Article 5

The present convention shall be open for the adherence and accession of the States which are not signatories. The corresponding instruments shall be deposited in the archives of the Pan American Union which shall communicate them to the other High Contracting Parties.

In witness whereof, the following Plenipotentiaries have signed this convention in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French and hereunto affix their respective seals in the city of Montevideo, Republic of Uruguay, this 26th day of December, 1933.


The Delegation of Honduras adheres to the Convention on Equality of Nationality, with the reservations and limitations which the Constitution and laws of our country determine.

M. Paz Baraona.—Augusto C. Coello.—Luis Bográn.

United States of America:

The Delegation of the United States of America, in signing the Convention on the Nationality of Women makes the reservation that the agreement on the part of the United States is, of course and of necessity, subject to congressional action.

Alexander W. Weddell.—J. Butler Wright.

El Salvador

Reservation to the effect that in El Salvador the Convention cannot be the object of immediate ratification, but that it will be necessary to consider previously the desirability of reforming the existing Naturalization Law, ratification being obtained only in the event that such legislative reform is undertaken, and after it may have been effected.

Héctor David Castro.—Arturo R. Avila.

  • Dominican Republic: Tulio M. Cestero.
  • Haiti: J. Barau.—F. Salgado.—Edmond Mangonés (Avec réserves).—A. Prre. Paul (avec réserves).
  • Argentina: Carlos Saavedra Lamas.—Juan F. Cafferata.—Ramón S. Castillo.—I. Ruiz Moreno.—L. A. Podestá Costa.—D. Antokoletz.
  • Uruguay: A. Mañé.—José Pedro Varela.—Mateo Marques Castro.—Dardo Regules.—Sofía Alvarez Vignoli de Demicheli.— [Page 214] Teófilo Piñeyro Chaín.—Luis A. de Herrera.—Martín R. Echegoyen.—José G. Antuña.—J. C. Blanco.—Pedro Mañini Ríos.—Rodolfo Mezzera.—Octavio Morató.—Luis Morquio.—josé serrato.
  • Paraguay: Justo Pastor Benítez.—María F. González.
  • Mexico: B. Vadillo.—M. J. Sierra.—Eduardo Suárez.
  • Panama: J. D. Arosemena.—Magín Pons.—Eduardo E. Holguin.
  • Bolivia: Arturo Pinto Escalier.
  • Guatemala: A. Skinner Klee.—J. González Campo.—Carlos Salazar.—M. Arroyo.
  • Brazil: Lucillo A. da Cunha Bueno.—Gilberto Amado.
  • Ecuador: A. Aguirre Aparicio.—H. Albornoz.—Antonio Parra V.—C. Puig V.—Arturo Scarone.
  • Nicaragua: Leonardo Argüello.—M. Cordero Reyes.—Carlos Cuadra Pasos.
  • Colombia: Alfonso López.—Raimundo Rivas.
  • Chile: Miguel Cruchaga.—J. Ramón Gutiérrez.—F. Figueroa.—F. Nieto del Rió.—B. Cohen.
  • Peru: Alfredo Solf y Muro.
  • Cuba: Alberto Giraudy.—Herminio Portell Vilá.—Ing. A. E. Nogueira.
  1. In English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French; English text, only, printed. Ratification advised by the Senate, May 24 (legislative day of May 10), 1934; ratified by the President, June 30, 1934; ratification of the United States deposited with the Pan American Union, July 13, 1934; proclaimed by the President, October 11, 1934.