By the President of the United States of America,


Whereas a Convention between the United States of America and Italy, Montenegro, Russia, Argentine Republic, Roumania, Servia, Belgium, Salvador, Portugal, the United Mexican States, Luxemburg, the Swiss Confederation, Persia, Japan, Ecuador, Bulgaria, Denmark, Spain, France, Sweden, the Netherlands, Greece, Uruguay, Germany, Cuba, Austria-Hungary, Norway, Egypt, Great Britain, Guatemala, Ethiopia, Nicaragua, Brazil, Costa Rica, Chile, Peru, China, Paraguay, and Turkey, providing for the creation of an International Institute of Agriculture was concluded and signed by their respective Plenipotentiaries at Rome on the seventh day of June, one thousand nine hundred and five, the original of which Convention, being in the French language, is word for word as follows:1

And whereas the said Convention has been duly ratified by the Government of the United States of America and by the Governments of the Argentine Republic, Belgium, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, Ecuador, Ethiopia, France, Japan, Great Britain, Italy, Luxemburg, the United Mexican States, Norway, Peru, Roumania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, China, Portugal, Russia, and Salvador and the ratifications deposited with the Government of Italy at Rome;

And whereas the Dominion of Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, and Mauritius have notified the Government of Italy of their adhesion to the said Convention;

Now, therefore, be it known that I, Theodore Roosevelt, President of the United States of America, have caused the said Convention to be made public, to the end that the same and every article [Page 484] and clause thereof may be observed and fulfilled with good faith by the United States and the citizens thereof.

In testimony whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of the United States of America to be affixed.

Theodore Roosevelt

By the President:
Robert Bacon
Acting Secretary of State.

  1. For text of Convention, see Foreign Relations, 1906, p. 947.