A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Saint Lucia


British colonial rule was established in St. Lucia in 1815. The island grew increasingly self-reliant throughout the twentieth century, participating in the West Indies Federation from 1958 until its collapse in 1962. Along with the other Windward Islands, St. Lucia became a federated state associated with the United Kingdom in 1967. Although it achieved independence in 1979, St. Lucia remains a member of the British Commonwealth.

Today the United States and St. Lucia enjoy cooperative relations and have signed several treaties concerning international crime and narcotics trafficking.

Modern Flag of Saint Lucia


U.S. Recognition of Saint Lucian Independence, 1979.

St. Lucia achieved full independence on February 22, 1979. The United States had previously informally recognized St. Lucia as a federated state of the British Commonwealth but did not formally recognize St. Lucian independence until the appointment of Sally Angela Shelton as American Ambassador to St. Lucia on May 17, 1979.

Consular Presence

The United States maintains no official presence in St. Lucia. The Ambassador and Embassy officers are resident in Barbados and frequently travel to St. Lucia.

Diplomatic Relations

U.S. Special Representative to Saint Lucia Appointed, 1977.

Frank V. Oritz, Jr. was appointed United States Special Representative to the States of Antigua, Dominica, St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent on September 1, 1977. The appointment was concurrent to his positions as Ambassador to Barbados and to Grenada.

Diplomatic Relations Established, 1983.

Diplomatic relations were established on June 11, 1979, when Ambassador Sally Angela Shelton presented her credentials. All U.S. ambassadors to St. Lucia have been resident at Barbados.