229. Editorial Note

The Second Suez Canal Conference met in London September 19–21. All of the 18 nations invited by the United Kingdom to send delegations to the Conference did so. They were: Australia, Denmark, Ethiopia, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Iran, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The membership of the United States Delegation to the Second Suez Canal Conference was as follows: United States Representative—John Foster Dulles; Special Assistant to the Representative—William B. Macomber; Senior Advisers—Winthrop W. Aldrich, C. Douglas Dillon, Loy W. Henderson, Herman Phleger, Carl W. McCardle, and Walworth Barbour; Advisers—Andrew H. Berding, Winthrop G. Brown, William C. Burdett, Jr., W. Bradley Connors, Norris B. Chipman, Andrew B. Foster, Stanley D. Metzger, Edwin G. Moline, Arthur R. Ringwalt, William R. Tyler, and Evan Wilson. For a list of the chief delegates to the Conference, see The Suez Canal Problem, July 26–September 22, 1956, page xv.

The records kept by the Delegation are in Department of State, Conference Files: Lot 62 D 181. They include position papers, daily chronologies and schedules, memoranda of conversation, extracts of verbatim minutes for the five plenary sessions, copies of Secto, Tosec, Dulte, and Tedul telegrams sent between the Delegation at London and the Department of State, and administrative and other miscellaneous papers. The Conference Files also contain copies of the verbatim record of the five plenary sessions and other documents prepared by the Conference’s International Secretariat.