740.00/817d: Telegram

The Secretary of State to the Ambassador in Cuba ( Wright )4

48. The President is tonight sending the following identic messages to the Chancelor of the German Reich and to the Chief of the Italian Government.

The texts of these messages will be released to the press in Washington at 10:30 a.m. April 15, Washington time.

[Page 134]

[Here follows the text of the President’s message to the German Chancellor, printed supra.]

Please proceed as early as possible Saturday5 to secure and cable Department any comment on the foregoing by the highest available official in the government to which you are accredited.


[For the messages from the Governments of all the other American Republics and Canada endorsing the President’s statement to the German Chancellor and the Chief of the Italian Government, which were transmitted to the Department pursuant to the last paragraph of the telegram sent on April 14, supra, see Department of State, Press Releases, April 22, 1939, pages 323 ff.]

  1. Sent at the same time to the Minister in Canada as Department’s No. 24; to the Chiefs of all Missions in the other American Republics, as follows: Argentina (No. 62), Bolivia (No. 8), Brazil (No. 60), Chile (No. 61), Colombia (No. 33), Costa Rica (No. 17), Dominican Republic (No. 24), Ecuador (No. 11), El Salvador (No. 4), Guatemala (No. 13), Haiti (No. 35), Honduras (No. 6), Mexico (No. 76), Nicaragua (No. 20), Panama (No. 29), Paraguay (No. 5), Peru (No. 25), Uruguay (No. 21) and Venezuela (No. 26); and with the omission of the last paragraph, to the Ambassadors in the United Kingdom (No. 261), Italy (No. 28) and France (No. 265).

    The Ambassador in France was instructed on April 15 (Department’s telegram No. 267, 3 p.m., not printed) to repeat the text of the Department’s telegram No. 265 to the Missions in Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and Yugoslavia, and at Beirut and Jerusalem.

  2. April 15.