Assistant Secretaries of State for Non-Proliferation

The Foreign Affairs Reform and Restructuring Act of October 21, 1998 (112 State 2681-767) authorized the incorporation of the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency into the Department of State. It also authoirzed the appointment of up to 6 Under Secretaries and 24 Assistant Secretaries (112 Stat 2681-825). The Reorganization Plan of December 30, 1998, called for the incorporation to take place April 1, 1999. Two, and later three Bureaus were formed in the Department to deal with arms control matters. The Bureau of Non-Proliferation was established April 1, 1999, when ACDA was incorporated into the Department of State.