A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Mongolia


For roughly 200 years prior to 1911, what is today the nation of Mongolia was contained within the territorial borders of the Empire of China. After the collapse of that empire, a group of Mongolia nationalists established a new republic in 1924, with the assistance of the Soviet Union. Mongolians affirmed their independence in a plebiscite in October 1945, but because Mongolia remained close to the Soviet Union, relations between Mongolia and the United States were slow to develop.

Modern Flag of Mongolia


U.S. Recognition of Mongolia, 1987.

The United States recognized the People’s Republic of Mongolia on January 27, 1987, when the two nations established formal diplomatic relations in a joint communiqué. Prior to this, the United States had on several occasions during the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Carter Administrations entertained the possibility of recognition, both through internal discussions and informal discussions with Mongolian representatives, without success. Although the United States had not blocked Mongolia’s 1961 entrance into the UN (the United States abstained), and had signed several multilateral treaties to which Mongolia was also a party, these acts had not constituted recognition.

Diplomatic Relations

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations, 1987.

The United States established diplomatic relations with Mongolia on January 27, 1987, when the United States and Mongolia issued a joint communiqué to that effect.

Establishment of the American Embassy in Mongolia, 1988.

The American Embassy at Ulaanbaatar was opened on April 17, 1988, with Steven Mann as Chargé d’Affaires ad interim.


  • Department of State Country Fact Sheet: Mongolia
  • Department of State Country Information: Mongolia