A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Federated States of Micronesia


Following World War II, the Federated States of Micronesia, along with several other island nations, were part of the U.N. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, under U.S. administration. Micronesia achieved independence in 1986. The United States recognized Micronesia upon independence and maintains an embassy in Kolonia.

Modern Flag of Micronesia


U.S. Recognition of Micronesian Independence, 1986.

The United States recognized Micronesian independence on November 3, 1986, when U.S. President Ronald Reagan noted in proclamation 5564 that the United States had fulfilled its obligations to Micronesia under the terms of the trusteeship agreement. Therefore, effective that day, the Federated States of Micronesia would no longer be under U.S. trusteeship, and a Compact of Free Association agreed upon between the two countries would go into force.

Diplomatic Relations

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations, 1986.

On November 3, 1986, the United States opened an Office of the U.S. Representative. Michael G. Wygant presented his credentials on October 2, 1987.

Establishment of the American Embassy in Micronesia, 1989.

On September 20, 1989, the Office of the U.S. Representative was upgraded to Embassy status. The first U.S. Ambassador to the Federated States of Micronesia, Aurelia Erskine Brazeal, presented her credentials on September 18, 1990.


  • Department of State Country Fact Sheet: Micronesia
  • Department of State Country Information: Micronesia