A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: The Republic of Korea (South Korea)


Recognition, 1949.

The United States recognized the Republic of Korea, with its capital at Seoul, as an independent state on January 1, 1949, in a White House statement.

Modern Flag of South Korea

Diplomatic Relations

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations, 1949.

Diplomatic relations between the United States and the Republic of Korea (South Korea) were established on March 25, 1949, when Ambassador Dr. John Myun Chang, presented his credentials to President Truman.