A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Democratic Republic of the Congo


The United States recognized the Democratic Republic of the Congo’s independence in 1960 and established diplomatic relations at the same time.

Modern Flag of The Democratic Republic of the Congo


U.S. Recognition of Congo’s Independence, 1960.

The United States recognized the Republic of Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo) on June 30, 1960, in a congratulatory message from President Dwight D. Eisenhower to President Kasavubu. On that date, the area formerly known as the Belgian Congo was proclaimed independent from Belgian sovereignty.

Diplomatic Relations

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations and the American Embassy, 1960.

Diplomatic relations were established on June 30, 1960, when the American Embassy in Leopoldville (now Kinshasha) was established with John D. Tomlinson as Chargé d’Affaires ad interim.